AI Law Practice Management Software Comparison 2026: MyCase, Smokeball, CosmoLex and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
We compared 10 AI law practice management software products, including MyCase, Smokeball, CosmoLex and Filevine, on pricing, free plans, Japanese support, platforms, strengths and weaknesses, with picks by goal and an FAQ (vendor websites checked in November 2026).
Choosing AI law practice management software is harder than it looks. Most vendors now advertise AI, but the plans that include it differ. Some publish prices, and others require a sales quote. Free access ranges from a 10-day trial to a free AI-only plan, and every tool here is built mainly for English-speaking markets.
This article compares MyCase, Smokeball, CosmoLex, Filevine, Rocket Matter, Actionstep, LEAP, Centerbase, CARET Legal, and Litify. For each tool, we cover pricing, free plans or trials, Japanese support, supported platforms, strengths, and limitations. We also note where the AI features sit in the plan structure, since that often affects the real cost.
After the tool-by-tool sections, you will find picks by goal and practical tips for choosing without regrets. We compared the tools using each vendor's official website, checked in November 2026. Features and prices change, so check the official website for the latest pricing and features before you decide.
What Is AI Law Practice Management Software? What It Does and What to Know Before Choosing
AI law practice management software combines the daily operations of a law firm in one system. These include matters, contacts, calendars, time tracking, billing, and trust accounting. It adds AI features on top of that data. The AI usually works on case documents, emails, and billing records, so you do not have to copy information into a separate tool.
Based on the tools in this comparison, typical uses include:
- Summarizing documents and cases, such as AI document summaries in CosmoLex or Matter Summary in LEAP.
- Answering questions about case data in natural language, such as Ask LOIS in Filevine.
- Drafting documents and emails from case context, including inside Word and Outlook.
- Capturing billable time automatically, such as Smokeball's AutoTime or Centerbase's Automated Time Capture.
- Analyzing firm finances, such as asking about receivables or matter profitability.
- Supporting intake, such as creating intake forms or structuring information from calls.
Before choosing, check what the free option covers. MyCase and CosmoLex offer a 10-day free trial with no credit card. Filevine offers LOIS Explore, a free plan for its AI, but it does not include Filevine case management. Several other tools say only that a trial exists or that you must request a demo.
Also check where AI sits in the plan structure. In MyCase, Case Assistant and Discovery Assistant require the Advanced plan. In CosmoLex, AI starts at Core. Smokeball's Archie is an add-on. Pricing models also vary: published per-user prices, annual-only prices, or quotes with implementation fees. Platforms differ too, and the Smokeball and LEAP desktop apps are for Windows.
Firm size and region matter as well. Some tools target small to mid-sized firms, while Actionstep, Centerbase, and Litify aim at larger or more complex operations. None of the ten tools has a confirmed Japanese UI or Japanese-language support, so plan for English-language use.
Comparison Table of Top 10 Tools (Pricing, Japanese Support, Platforms)
| Tool | Main plans | Japanese support | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|
| MyCase | Free trial 10 days / MyCase Basic $50/user/month | Not confirmed | Web, iOS, Android, Desktop Drive (PC/Mac, Advanced) and more |
| Smokeball | US: contact sales / Australia: Bill from A$59/user/month (excl. GST) | Not stated | Windows (desktop app, Grow and Prosper+), Web (Bill and Boost), iOS, Android and more |
| CosmoLex | Free trial 10 days / Launch $49, Core $99, Pro $129 per user/month (billed annually) | Not confirmed | Web, iOS, Android |
| Filevine | Contact sales | Not confirmed | Web (Chromium-based browser recommended), Microsoft Word (LOIS for Word), Microsoft Outlook (LOIS for Outlook), API (Integrations & APIs, DataBridge) |
| Rocket Matter | Free trial available / Essentials $59/user/month / Pro $95/user/month / Premier $115/user/month | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android |
| Actionstep | Contact sales | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android, Microsoft Office integration |
| LEAP | Contact sales | Not stated | Windows (desktop app), Web (Google Chrome), iOS, Android |
| Centerbase | Contact sales | Not stated | Web, Mobile app (supported OS not stated on the official page), Microsoft 365 integration (Outlook, Word, SharePoint) |
| CARET Legal | Free trial available / Enterprise $79/user/month / Enterprise Plus $99/user/month | Not stated | Web, iOS, Android |
| Litify | Contact sales | Not stated | Web (Salesforce platform), Chrome extension, Mobile-friendly web app (Litify ACE) |
AIpedia has not rated these tools, because they do not have their own pages on AIpedia yet. Pricing and plans change; we checked each vendor's official website in November 2026. Check the latest information on the official website before you sign up.
Features, Pricing, and Best For: 10 Tools
1. MyCase
MyCase is a practice management tool for small to mid-sized law firms in the US. It brings case and contact management, a calendar, tasks, time and expense tracking, invoicing, trust account ledgers, and a client portal into one system. Its AI features are offered under the name "8am IQ." The official website lists the operating company as 8am, LLC.
- Strengths: The pricing page lists monthly and annual prices for three plans in USD. The 10-day free trial requires no credit card.
- Strengths: AI is built into the plans. Pro and above include Writing Assistant and Document Assistant. Advanced adds Case Assistant and Discovery Assistant, which uses OCR to make scanned materials searchable (5,000 pages per user per month).
- Strengths: All paid plans include the official MCP connector for Claude (read-only). According to the official FAQ, customer data is not used to train OpenAI's models.
- Things to note: The Basic plan does not include 8am IQ, workflow automation, or the mobile app. Case Assistant and Discovery Assistant require Advanced, and extra OCR pages are charged separately. The MCP connector also requires a separate Claude Team or Enterprise plan.
- Things to note: The site and help center are in English only. Features center on US systems such as IOLTA trust accounts and payments to USCIS. The official pages do not mention a Japanese UI or support for Japanese accounting or payments.
MyCase runs on the web, iOS, and Android. Advanced adds Desktop Drive (PC/Mac) and an Open API. Pro and above include workflow automation, e-signatures, intake forms, two-way SMS, and 70+ integrations such as Google, Outlook, Zapier, and QuickBooks.
Pricing: Per user per month, in USD, as of the official pricing page on November 7, 2026. Basic is $50 (billed annually) or $60 (billed monthly). Pro is $100 (billed annually) or $120 (billed monthly). Advanced is $130 (billed annually) or $150 (billed monthly). Annual billing saves up to 16%. The 10-day free trial includes all features and needs no credit card. Add-ons: MyCase Accounting is $39/user/month (Pro and Advanced), LawPay Payments is $0/month (payment processing fees are separate), and an additional 5,000 pages for Discovery Assistant is $30 (firm-wide; expires at the end of the contract term).
Best for: Small to mid-sized US law firms that want published prices, a no-card trial, and AI built into a single plan structure. Firms that need a Japanese interface should look elsewhere or confirm directly with the vendor.
2. Smokeball
Smokeball is a practice management tool for small to mid-sized law firms. It handles cases, contacts, calendars, tasks, automated forms and templates, email management, time tracking, billing, trust accounting, and analytics reports. It has dedicated sites for the U.S., Australia, and the U.K. According to the official website, it is used by more than 34,000 legal professionals worldwide.
- Strengths: Archie, the AI assistant, uses the documents, emails, and appointments in a case. It summarizes, drafts, reviews, and answers questions with sources, so you do not need to re-upload files.
- Strengths: It works inside Microsoft Word and Outlook, where it can summarize emails, draft replies, and draft and edit documents. AutoTime records working time automatically, which can reduce missed billing.
- Strengths: Playbooks check documents against the firm's rules. The official page says Archie operates under a zero data retention agreement, and Smokeball is ISO 27001:2022 certified.
- Things to note: U.S. prices are not published for any plan, so a quote is required. Archie is an add-on, and only the U.K. price is listed.
- Things to note: The desktop app is for Windows 11 (64-bit), and Mac is not supported. The sites are in English only, and we could not confirm Japanese support or availability in Japan.
Platforms include the Windows desktop app (Grow and Prosper+), the web (Bill and Boost), iOS, Android, and Word and Outlook integration. AutoTime is included in Prosper+ and is an add-on for Grow.
Pricing: As of November 7, 2026, the U.S. pricing page shows "Get pricing" for all four plans (Bill, Boost, Grow, and Prosper+), with quotes based on users and contract term. The Australian version shows Bill from A$59/month, Boost from A$129/month, and Grow from A$249/month (all per user, excluding GST). Prosper+ is contact sales there, and the free trial covers Boost only. The U.K. version shows Prosper+ from £89/month (per user according to the FAQ). Archie AI is an add-on from £29/month in the U.K.; U.S. and Australian prices are not listed.
Best for: Windows-based firms in the U.S., Australia, or the U.K. that work mainly in Word and Outlook and want AI tied to case context. Check the official website for the latest pricing and features.
3. CosmoLex
CosmoLex is a cloud-based practice management tool for law firms. It combines case management, time and expense tracking, billing, and trust accounting. The top Pro plan also covers general accounting, such as the general ledger and accounts payable. According to the official website, it is a product of the ProfitSolv group, with a US site and a Canadian site.
- Strengths: The pricing page lists annual and monthly prices for three plans. A 10-day free trial requires no credit card, and apart from one bank feed connection, you can try the same features as the paid version.
- Strengths: AI Document Summaries, AI Filters, and the AI Intake Form Builder are included from the mid-tier Core plan. AI Filters narrow case and billing data using phrases such as "unbilled time last month."
- Strengths: Pro handles the general ledger and accounts payable, so trust accounting and general accounting can sit in one system. According to the official FAQ, firm data is not used to train AI models.
- Things to note: The cheapest plan, Launch, has no AI features. AI document search (fall 2026) and AI bank reconciliation (early 2027) are listed as upcoming, not available now.
- Things to note: CRM and Websites are separately priced add-ons. The site is in English only, and there is no mention of a Japanese UI or support for Japanese accounting or payments.
CosmoLex runs on the web, iOS, and Android. Trust accounting and compliance reports are in all plans. LEDES and split billing start at Core. The official page lists SOC 2 Type 2 and PCI DSS compliance.
Pricing: Per user per month, in USD, as of November 7, 2026. Launch is $49 (billed annually) or $59 (billed monthly). Core is $99 (billed annually) or $109 (billed monthly). Pro is $129 (billed annually) or $139 (billed monthly). Annual billing carries a $120 per user per year discount. The 10-day free trial needs no credit card, but CRM and LexShare/LexSign are not included. Add-ons: CRM is $147/month (billed annually, up to 3 users) or $177/month (billed monthly); Websites is $149/month (billed annually) or $159/month (billed monthly). No prices are listed for CosmoLex Pay, Google Ads management, or LexShare/LexSign.
Best for: Small US or Canadian firms that want published prices, a free trial, and trust and general accounting in one system, with basic AI from Core.
4. Filevine
Filevine is a case management platform for law firms, government agencies, and corporate legal departments. It centers on case management, document management, form creation, and billing. Intake (Lead Docket), depositions, and e-signatures (Vinesign) are added as packages. Its AI foundation is LOIS (Legal Operating Intelligence System).
- Strengths: LOIS is built into Word, Outlook, meetings, and case management. Ask LOIS answers questions based on case context, and AI Drafting uses case information.
- Strengths: It offers AI for litigation and personal injury work, including Depo Copilot for real-time deposition support and MedChron for medical record chronologies.
- Strengths: LOIS Explore, a free plan, needs no credit card. It lets you upload documents and ask questions, draft with citations, and do legal research. Because packages are combined, you can adopt only the features you need.
- Things to note: Prices are not published, and each package needs a quote. LOIS Explore does not give access to Filevine case management, so it is a way to try the AI rather than the full system.
- Things to note: According to the official security FAQ, there is no dedicated mobile app. Phones use a Chromium-based browser. The site is in English only, the login covers US and Canadian versions, and Japanese support is not confirmed.
Platforms are the web (Chromium-based browser recommended), Microsoft Word, Microsoft Outlook, and APIs including DataBridge. The Matters package covers cases, tasks, deadlines, document management, time tracking, billing, and online payments.
Pricing: Contact sales. As of November 7, 2026, the official pricing page says "All packages are custom built," with individual quotes combining the Matters, Intake, Depositions, and Signatures packages. LOIS Explore is a free plan for LOIS. The pricing page uses both "free tier of LOIS" and "free trial of LOIS Explore," and no period is stated. It requires no credit card.
Best for: Litigation and personal injury firms, and legal departments that want AI across drafting, depositions, and medical records. Firms that want fixed, published pricing may find the quote process a limit.
5. Rocket Matter
Rocket Matter is a cloud-based practice management tool that law firms have used since 2008, according to the official website. It centers on time tracking, billing, online payments, and trust accounting. It also offers matter management, tasks and calendars, document assembly, a client portal, and reports. The footer says it belongs to the same ProfitSolv group as CosmoLex.
- Strengths: The pricing page lists four plans and the add-ons. All plans have a free trial with no credit card, and support and free data migration are included.
- Strengths: Billing features are extensive, including evergreen retainers, bulk billing, LEDES and split billing, and fee allocation. Matter-based trust accounts and compliance reports are included.
- Strengths: The Elite plan includes built-in business accounting, so a firm can run billing, trust, and accounting in one system. It is SOC 2 Type 2 compliant.
- Things to note: The only AI feature is a ChatGPT integration using OpenAI's API. As of November 7, 2026, the product and pricing pages do not mention AI, and the knowledge base article was last updated on May 9, 2023. Check availability before adopting it.
- Things to note: Listed prices are for annual billing only. Card and eCheck/ACH payments are US only. The CRM add-on is limited to Pro and Premier and needs a $399 setup fee and 3 or more users. Japanese support is not stated.
Platforms are the web, iOS, and Android. Integrations include Outlook/Office 365, Google Calendar, Dropbox, Box, OneDrive, NetDocs, Zapier, and QuickBooks Online. The QuickBooks Online integration cannot be used with the built-in accounting.
Pricing: Per user per month, billed annually, as of November 7, 2026. Essentials is $59, Pro is $95, Premier is $115, and Elite is $145. Monthly billing prices are not stated. A free trial is available on all plans (no credit card; duration not stated). Add-ons: CRM Core is $39/user/month (billed annually) or $49 (billed monthly). CRM Enterprise is $147/month (billed annually, up to 3 users, $49 per additional user) or $177/month (billed monthly, $59 per additional user). The CRM setup fee is $399. Website is +$149/month (billed annually) with a $599 setup fee. E-signature overage is $2 per envelope.
Best for: US firms that put billing, payments, and trust accounting first and treat AI as a secondary need.
6. Actionstep
Actionstep is a cloud-based practice management platform for mid-sized law firms. It brings matter management, intake, document management, CRM, workflow automation, billing, and trust accounting onto a single data foundation. The pricing page is organized by region: the US, UK, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. Its AI offering is called Actionstep Intelligence.
- Strengths: AI time and revenue capture tracks work in Actionstep, Outlook, and Word, assigns time to matters, and drafts billing narratives. This can help recover missed billing.
- Strengths: AI business intelligence lets you ask about matter profitability, billing trends, realization, and team performance in natural language, with sources.
- Strengths: All AI features are opt-in, administrators set the scope and can audit what runs, and firm data is not used to train AI models. The official website says it has completed a SOC 2 Type 2 audit.
- Things to note: Pricing is not public. It is per user plus implementation fees, with no amounts listed. No free trial is mentioned, so you inquire through a demo request.
- Things to note: Legal Accounting is offered only in North America. AI workflow automation is "Coming soon" as of November 7, 2026. Japan is not among the supported regions, and there is no mention of a Japanese UI.
Platforms are the web, iOS, Android, and Microsoft Office integration. Add-ons include Builder, which creates documents from matter data, and Capture, which collects client information and maps it to matters. An integration with the AI intake tool Lexidesk is also introduced.
Pricing: Contact sales. As of November 7, 2026, Practice Management, Legal Accounting, and add-ons such as Builder and Capture are all "Priced per user plus implementation fees," with amounts not listed. Choose your region and request a demo for a quote. No free trial is mentioned.
Best for: Mid-sized firms in the US, UK, Australia, New Zealand, or Canada that want AI built on billing, accounting, and matter data, and can go through a quote and implementation process.
7. LEAP
LEAP is practice management software for small to mid-sized law firms. It combines matter management, a library of auto-populated forms and templates, document management, legal accounting, billing, and online payments, and it integrates with Microsoft 365. It has region-specific sites for the US, Australia, UK, Ireland, New Zealand, and Canada.
- Strengths: According to the official FAQ, AI tools such as Matter AI, Generator, and the LawY integration are included in the subscription at no additional cost.
- Strengths: Matter Summary shows inline references to source documents. LawY answers legal questions and offers optional verification by a practicing lawyer in your state.
- Strengths: AutoTime records time in the background and connects it to billing. The forms library, unlimited document storage, and AskLEAP support assistant help with routine work. LEAP is hosted on AWS and has SOC 2 Type 2 certification.
- Things to note: Pricing is not public, and a temporary implementation fee for data migration and initial training may apply. Some third-party integrations are under separate contracts.
- Things to note: According to the official Australia system requirements, the desktop app is for Windows and does not run on macOS. The browser version is used with Google Chrome. The sites are in English only, with no mention of a Japanese UI.
Platforms are the Windows desktop app, the web (Google Chrome), iOS, and Android. The Generator drafts documents three ways: reusing past letters and forms, picking an AI-identified template, or generating with LawY. An AI prompt template library creates drafts such as Discovery Requests and wills and trust agreements.
Pricing: Contact sales. As of November 7, 2026, the US pricing page uses a "request pricing" format, with quotes based on the firm's needs. A temporary implementation fee may apply. According to the official FAQ, AI tools, including the LawY integration, are included in the subscription at no additional cost. No amounts are listed.
Best for: Small to mid-sized firms in the six supported regions that use Windows and Microsoft 365 and want AI included in the subscription. Mac-based firms should confirm app support first.
8. Centerbase
Centerbase is a practice management platform for mid-sized US law firms. The pricing page describes it as being for firms that find small-firm software too limited and heavyweight enterprise systems more than they need. It combines matter management, billing and accounting, document management, a calendar, profitability reporting, a client portal, and intake. It integrates with Microsoft 365.
- Strengths: Centerbase IQ answers natural-language questions about billing, collections, WIP, and accounts receivable with charts, tables, and explanations. Answers cite the underlying records, so you can trace the numbers.
- Strengths: Time tracking has three levels: basic entry, Automated Time Capture, and the Billables AI integration, which drafts billing narratives. Data migration, setup, and training are included in all subscriptions.
- Strengths: Centerbase IQ runs on a tenant-isolated database, firm data is not used to train AI models, and queries can be audited. Integration with Outlook, Word, and SharePoint is deep.
- Things to note: Pricing is not public, and a quote is required. Implementation usually takes 12 to 14 weeks, according to the FAQ. The pricing page does not state whether Centerbase IQ is included in the price.
- Things to note: The site is in English only. The product is described as being for mid-sized US firms, and there is no mention of a Japanese UI or availability in Japan.
Platforms are the web, a mobile app (supported OS not stated on the official page), and Microsoft 365 integration. The mobile app covers time tracking, viewing billing and matters, and calling and texting clients without revealing a personal number. Recording conversations is a premium feature.
Pricing: Contact sales. As of November 7, 2026, no amounts are listed. Quotes come through Request a Demo, and license, implementation, and add-on costs are itemized in the quote. Implementation support is included with all subscriptions. Centerbase Payments (Stripe) has no platform fee, only per-transaction fees.
Best for: Mid-sized US firms that want to analyze profitability, WIP, and receivables with traceable AI answers and can plan for a multi-month implementation.
9. CARET Legal
CARET Legal is a practice management tool for small and mid-sized U.S. law firms. It combines built-in email, document management, a calendar, tasks, contacts, billing, accounting, reports, a client portal, LEDES billing, and integrated payments. The Zola Suite website now redirects to caretlegal.com. According to the official website, more than 6,500 firms use CARET.
- Strengths: The pricing page lists annual-billing prices for three plans. All plans include 24-hour phone support and training.
- Strengths: Email, documents, and accounting are in one system, which reduces switching between separate tools. Native iOS and Android apps are available.
- Strengths: CARET AI was announced at the 2026 summer launch. It includes CARET Capture for billable time, CARET Command for priorities, and CARET Court Rules for court deadlines.
- Things to note: AI document summaries start at Enterprise Plus ($99/user/month, billed annually) and are not in the lowest-priced Enterprise plan. A one-time implementation fee applies, and the amount is not published.
- Things to note: There is little official explanation of how the AI works or which models are used. The site states "Built for firms in the U.S." and is English only, with no mention of a Japanese UI.
Platforms are the web, iOS, and Android. Enterprise Plus and above add workflow automation, custom permissions, departmental accounting, native document editing, and unlimited storage of case-related documents. CARET Pay supports recurring retainer payments by saved card or ACH account.
Pricing: Per user per month, billed annually, as of November 7, 2026. Enterprise is $79, Enterprise Plus is $99 (includes AI document summaries), and Enterprise Insights is $119. A one-time implementation fee is added, and the amount is not listed. Monthly billing prices are not stated. A free trial can be requested (duration not stated). Premium Support is an add-on with no price listed, available with a minimum of 25 users and a minimum contract term.
Best for: Small to mid-sized U.S. firms that want email, documents, and accounting in one system with phone support, and accept an implementation fee.
10. Litify
Litify is a practice management platform for law firms and corporate legal departments, built on the Salesforce platform. It combines intake, case management, document management, time tracking and billing (eBilling), expense management, and reporting and analytics in one system. Its AI centers on Litify AI, which is built into the platform, and Litify ACE 2.0, which answers questions across entire cases and uses agents to run multi-step tasks.
- Strengths: ACE agents connect directly to case data, so automation reaches tasks such as drafting demand letters, preparing draft responses to interrogatories, and deposition preparation and review. Other example agents cover client sentiment scores, case summaries, and intake acceptance decisions.
- Strengths: Intake support is a focus. LitifyAI Call Intelligence transcribes calls and voicemails from more than 20 VoIP providers, including RingCentral, Dialpad, and Zoom. It then saves questionnaire pre-fill, predictive lead scores, summaries, and follow-up tasks in Litify.
- Strengths: Because it is built on Salesforce, you can use the Salesforce marketplace and partner products. The official website states that data is neither retained nor used to train models, and that it can be configured to meet HIPAA, GDPR, and SOC II standards.
- Things to note: Pricing is not public. The official website's /pricing page redirects to a demo request page (as of November 7, 2026), and the site positions Litify as enterprise-oriented, with no self-serve plan or free trial. Call Intelligence is an add-on that requires Docrio document management, and its price is not listed.
- Things to note: The site is English only, with no mention of a Japanese UI. Call Intelligence supports multilingual transcription when call participants speak the same language, but no list of supported languages is given, and summaries and records are output in English.
Pricing: Contact sales. The official website's /pricing redirects to a demo request page (Request a Free Demo), and no pricing is listed. LitifyAI Call Intelligence is a native add-on that requires Docrio document management, and its price is not listed. Check the official website for the latest pricing and features.
Best for: Firms and corporate legal departments that want agent-based AI tied to case data and are comfortable with a demo-led, quote-based purchase. It may suit personal injury, insurance defense, and immigration practices, which have dedicated solutions, especially those with heavy call-based intake. Firms that need a published price, a free trial, or Japanese-language support should confirm availability before choosing.
Recommendations by Goal
| Goal | Recommended | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Start with a trial and published prices | MyCase, CosmoLex | Both list USD prices per user per month and offer a 10-day free trial with no credit card. |
| Try AI before buying a full system | Filevine | The free LOIS Explore plan needs no credit card but does not include Filevine case management. |
| Small firm that wants AI included in the subscription | LEAP | The official FAQ says AI tools such as Matter AI and Generator are included at no additional cost. |
| Trust and general accounting in one system | CosmoLex, Rocket Matter | CosmoLex Pro and Rocket Matter Elite both include general business accounting. |
| Mid-sized firm that wants financial analytics | Centerbase, Actionstep | Centerbase IQ and Actionstep's AI business intelligence answer questions about firm data in natural language. |
| Heavy Word and Outlook workflows | Smokeball, Centerbase | Smokeball's Archie works in Word and Outlook, and Centerbase integrates with Outlook, Word, and SharePoint. |
| Large litigation or personal injury operations | Litify, Filevine | Litify offers ACE agents for demand letters and deposition preparation, and Filevine offers Depo Copilot and MedChron. |
| Phone support and training in every plan | CARET Legal | All three plans include 24-hour phone support and training. |
None of the ten tools has a confirmed Japanese UI or Japanese-language support, so there is no pick for Japanese-language use. Check the official website for the latest pricing and features, and confirm support directly with the vendor.
How to Choose Without Regrets
Check which plan actually includes the AI
AI is often tied to a higher tier. In MyCase, Case Assistant and Discovery Assistant require Advanced, and Basic has no 8am IQ. In CosmoLex, AI starts at Core, and in CARET Legal, AI document summaries start at Enterprise Plus. Price the plan that includes the AI you need, not the entry plan.
Match the pricing model to your buying process
MyCase, CosmoLex, Rocket Matter, and CARET Legal publish per-user prices. Smokeball in the U.S., Filevine, Actionstep, LEAP, Centerbase, and Litify require a quote. Quotes may include implementation fees, as with Actionstep and LEAP, or an itemized license and add-on breakdown, as with Centerbase. Ask for the full first-year cost in writing.
Use free options for what they really cover
MyCase and CosmoLex offer a 10-day trial with no credit card. Filevine's LOIS Explore is free but does not include case management. Rocket Matter and CARET Legal offer trials with no stated duration. Litify has no free trial, and Actionstep mentions none. Test with real workflows within the trial window.
Confirm the platform and your devices
The Smokeball and LEAP desktop apps are for Windows, with no Mac support in the official requirements we checked. Filevine has no dedicated mobile app and uses a Chromium-based browser. MyCase, CosmoLex, Rocket Matter, and CARET Legal list iOS and Android. List your devices before you shortlist.
Plan for English and regional limits
All ten tools are English only, and none confirms a Japanese UI. Many are built around US systems, such as IOLTA trust accounts in MyCase and ACH payments in CARET Legal. Actionstep, LEAP, and Smokeball serve several regions, but Japan is not among them. Confirm local accounting and payment needs with the vendor, and confirm the final decision with a qualified professional where compliance is involved.
FAQ
Q. Which tools publish their prices?
A. MyCase, CosmoLex, Rocket Matter, and CARET Legal publish per-user prices. MyCase Basic is $50 billed annually, CosmoLex Launch is $49 billed annually, Rocket Matter Essentials is $59 billed annually, and CARET Legal Enterprise is $79 billed annually. Smokeball (U.S.), Filevine, Actionstep, LEAP, Centerbase, and Litify use quotes.
Q. Which tools offer a free trial or free plan?
A. MyCase and CosmoLex offer a 10-day free trial with no credit card. Rocket Matter and CARET Legal offer free trials with no stated duration. Filevine has a free plan, LOIS Explore, which excludes case management. Litify offers no self-serve plan or free trial.
Q. Can any of these tools be used in Japanese?
A. No. The official pages for all ten tools are in English only, and none mentions a Japanese UI or Japanese-language support. Actionstep's pricing page does not list Japan as a region. Confirm any language needs directly with the vendor.
Q. What AI features do these tools have?
A. They vary. MyCase has 8am IQ, Smokeball has Archie, and Filevine has LOIS. Actionstep has Actionstep Intelligence, LEAP has Matter AI and Generator, Centerbase has Centerbase IQ, and Litify has ACE. CosmoLex offers AI summaries, filters, and form creation from Core. For Rocket Matter, the only AI feature found is a ChatGPT integration described in a 2023 knowledge base article, and it is not confirmed whether it is still offered.
Q. Do these tools work on Mac?
A. It depends. The Smokeball desktop app is for Windows 11 (64-bit), and Mac is not supported. The LEAP desktop app is for Windows and does not run on macOS. MyCase lists Desktop Drive for PC/Mac on Advanced. Web-based tools such as CosmoLex and CARET Legal run in a browser.
Summary
The ten tools differ most in how they price AI and how they sell. MyCase, CosmoLex, Rocket Matter, and CARET Legal publish prices, while the rest need quotes. AI often sits in higher tiers or add-ons, and LEAP includes it in the subscription.
All ten are English only, and none confirms Japanese support. Platform limits, such as Windows-only desktop apps for Smokeball and LEAP, also matter. Check the official website for the latest pricing and features before you decide.
- Want a trial and published prices → MyCase or CosmoLex (10-day free trial, no credit card)
- Want to try AI without a full system → Filevine (free LOIS Explore plan)
- Want large-scale agent automation → Litify (ACE agents on Salesforce)
Comparisons for Other Categories
- 💬 AI Chat & AssistantsAI Chat Comparison 2026: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Copilot and 6 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📄 AI Document CreationAI Document Tool Comparison 2026: Craft AI, Tana AI, Taskade AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📄 AI Document CreationAI Virtual Data Room Software Comparison 2026: Datasite, SS&C Intralinks, Ansarada and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ✍️ AI WritingAI Writing Tools Comparison 2026: Notion AI, DeepL Write, Jasper and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🎨 AI Image GenerationAI Image Generators Compared (2026): Midjourney, DALL-E 3, Adobe Firefly and 7 More
- 🎬 AI Video GenerationAI Video Generator Comparison 2026: Google Veo 3.1 (Flow), Kling AI, Seedance 2.5 and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🎵 AI Audio & MusicAI Voice & Music Tools Comparison 2026: ElevenLabs, Suno, Fish Audio and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 💻 AI Coding AssistantsAI Coding Tools Comparison 2026: Claude Code, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, OpenAI Codex and 6 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 💻 AI Coding AssistantsAI Observability and Monitoring Tools Comparison 2026: Datadog, New Relic, Dynatrace and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 💻 AI Coding AssistantsAI Developer Documentation Platforms Comparison 2026: Mintlify, GitBook, ReadMe and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 💻 AI Coding AssistantsAI Code Review Tools Comparison 2026: CodeRabbit, Graphite, Greptile and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 💻 AI Coding AssistantsAI Vector Databases Comparison 2026: Pinecone, Weaviate, Qdrant and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🔍 AI Search EnginesAI Search Engine Comparison 2026: Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Deep Research, ChatGPT Atlas and More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📊 AI Data AnalyticsAI Data Analysis Tool Comparison 2026: Tableau, ChatGPT Data Analysis, Julius AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📊 AI Data AnalyticsAI Revenue Recognition Software Comparison 2026: Leapfin, RightRev, Chargebee RevRec and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📊 AI Data AnalyticsAI Pricing Optimization Software Comparison 2026: Pricefx, Conga (formerly PROS), Zilliant and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📊 AI Data AnalyticsAI Governance and Risk Management Platforms Comparison 2026: Credo AI, Holistic AI, OneTrust AI Governance and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📊 AI Data AnalyticsAI Synthetic Data Generation Tools Comparison 2026: Tonic.ai, Syntho, K2view and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📈 AI MarketingAI Marketing Tool Comparison 2026: HubSpot, Salesforce Einstein, Marketo, Shopify Magic and 6 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📈 AI MarketingAI Affiliate and Partner Management Platforms Comparison 2026: impact.com, PartnerStack, Everflow and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📈 AI MarketingAI Call Tracking Software Comparison 2026: CallRail, Invoca, CTM (formerly CallTrackingMetrics) and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🏆 AI SEOAI SEO Tool Comparison 2026: Ahrefs, Semrush AI, Surfer SEO AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🏆 AI SEOAIO & GEO Tool Comparison 2026: AIOPulse, Mieruca GEO, Profound and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🖌️ AI DesignAI Design Tool Comparison 2026: Canva, Figma, Adobe Express, Microsoft Designer and 6 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🌐 AI TranslationAI Translation Tools Comparison 2026: DeepL, Google Translate, Mirai Translation and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📝 AI SummarizationAI Summarization Tool Comparison 2026: Google NotebookLM, ChatPDF, Adobe Acrobat AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📽️ AI PresentationsAI Presentation Tools Comparison 2026: Gamma, Canva AI, Copilot in PowerPoint and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 📚 AI Education & LearningAI Education & Learning Tool Comparison 2026: Duolingo Max, Speak, ELSA Speak and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🤖 AI AgentsAI Agent Comparison 2026: Manus, Genspark, OpenAI Operator, Dify and 6 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI Automation Comparison 2026: Zapier AI, Make, n8n, UiPath and 6 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI Accounts Payable Automation Tools Comparison 2026: Tipalti, Stampli, Vic.ai and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI Bookkeeping and Accounting Automation Tools Comparison 2026: Digits, Puzzle, Zeni and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI Workforce Scheduling Software Comparison 2026: Deputy, When I Work, Legion and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI Practice Management Software for Accounting Firms Comparison 2026: Karbon, Canopy, TaxDome and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI KYB and Business Verification Tools Comparison 2026: Middesk, Alloy, Persona and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI E-invoicing Compliance Software Comparison 2026: Avalara E-Invoicing and Live Reporting, Sovos Compliance Network, Vertex e-Invoicing and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- ⚙️ AI AutomationAI Payment Orchestration Platforms Comparison 2026: Spreedly, Primer, Gr4vy and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🧩 AI No-CodeAI No-Code App Builders Comparison 2026: Lovable, Bolt.new, Dify Cloud and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🎙️ AI Meeting & TranscriptionAI Meeting Notes & Transcription Tools Comparison 2026: Notta, Zoom AI, Plaud Note and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🎙️ AI Meeting & TranscriptionAI Webinar Platforms Comparison 2026: Zoom Webinars, GoTo Webinar, Livestorm and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🛎️ AI Customer SupportAI Customer Support Tool Comparison 2026: Intercom Fin, Zendesk AI, Freshdesk Freddy AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- 🧊 AI 3D Model GenerationAI 3D Model Generator Comparison 2026: Luma AI, Meshy AI, Tripo AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- Local LLM Tool Comparison 2026: Ollama, LM Studio, Jan and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- AI Developer Tool Comparison 2026: Anthropic Console, OpenRouter, Groq and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- AI Development Platform Comparison 2026: Hugging Face, Google Colab, Amazon Bedrock and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- AI Legal Tool Comparison 2026: Harvey AI, CoCounsel, Luminance and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- Healthcare AI Tool Comparison 2026: Ubie, Ada Health, Abridge and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- AI Website Builder Comparison 2026: Wix AI, Squarespace AI, Webflow AI and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
- AI Voice Agent Comparison 2026: ElevenLabs, Retell AI, Vapi and 7 More (Pricing & Free Plans)
Are you the vendor of a tool mentioned in this article? You can request a correction, or add a paid section about your product (JPY 50,000 per article, card payment).
Written & verified by
AIpedia Editorial Team
The AIpedia Editorial Team specializes in researching, comparing, and hands-on testing AI tools. We create accounts and use the tools we cover, verifying pricing, key features, and real-world usability before writing. Articles are reviewed regularly to keep the information up to date.